“Finding Nemo” and My RSD/CRPS

Just_Keep_Swimming.JPG

I used to work a movie theater from age 16, I got the job on my 16th birthday thanks to my brother (who already worked there, and worked there till November of my Senior year when I left due to issues and the fact I wanted to enjoy my Senior year in high school.  One of the biggest movies we had before I left was Finding Nemo, which I screened each copy of it we had before the release date (standard practice) and now have some of the lines stuck in my head forever. 

Two weeks before my graduation, shortly after I had turned 18 I had my car accident that lead caused my RSD/CRPS.  It was 4months after the car accident when I was going to physical therapy (or pain and torture as I jokingly call it) and on what was then a potent mix of pain meds and muscle relaxers that made me a wee bit out of it.  My Mom asked to stop at a Bed, Bath and Beyond and I said it fine, I was done with my PT for the week and it was on the way home.  I took my next dose of meds a little, like 30mins early, due to the pain I was in.  It  didn’t take long to kick in and made me more than a wee bit out of it.

I found one of the microfiber, micro-bead filled pillows and asked my Mom to by it for me, she said yes.  I spent the rest of the time in the store walking around stroking and playing with 1 of the pillows my Mom picked out saying, “I shall call him Squishy, and he shall be mine, and I shall be my Squishy. He_shall_be_my_squishy.PNG  Needless to say many people were stareing at the crazy lady walking with my Mom and wispering because she decided to check out and head home since then I, heck my whole family does too now, call those types of pillows “Squishies,” and my Mom “teases” me by singing Just Keep Swimming when I am having a tough day, but only to see me smile. I hated Finding Nemo because it was one of the last popular *kids* movie the staff and I had to clean the “technicolor yawns” and messy (which is a special kind of messy only sugared up kids can create) theaters we had to clean when the movie was over, it was a love/hate relationship with the movie. Now my squishies and the quotes bring a smile to face and wonderful memories of my Father who died in March of this year. 

That is why Finding Nemo and my RSD/CRPS are connected so much in my mind and quoted often by me now.

What, if any, quote do you strongly associate with something in your life and why?

 

3 thoughts on ““Finding Nemo” and My RSD/CRPS

  1. Hi Warrior Princess! I’m really enjoying your blog so I nominated you for the Liebster award.

    This is an award for new bloggers with less than 200 followers.
    This a great way to do some networking. The Liebster award nominees are chosen by fellow bloggers. Each blogger that accepts chooses 11 other blogs to nominate, and so on, so it helps those of us with few followers get out there and be seen.

    If you choose to accept the nomination, there are a few things for you to complete and post on your site. Take a look at the requirements, you can see them at the link to my Liebster award post, then see what you think.

    After you select your nominees, feel free to cut and paste parts of this message in order to make your own version. That is what I did.

    You are not obligated to participate, but it would be very beneficial for you to do so.

    The details and questions are in my post at http://lovemylifeanyway.wordpress.com/2014/11/30/liebster-award/

    I was nominated by cjohera. You can find her post with her questions and answers at https://cjohera.wordpress.com/2014/11/28/leibster-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

